Monday, January 26, 2009

Expedition Everest

This has to be one of my top 2 favorite rides at WDW. I remembered to take my little camera with me in line so I got a few pics of the queue area as well as on the ride itself. So. Much. Fun!

Photobucket

All of the gear you'll need. The mountains are cold you know.
Photobucket

Shrine to the Yeti
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Going up
Photobucket

And up...
Photobucket

You can't really make it out but that's Epcot (Spaceship Earth is visible from the ride but not so much in this pic unless I circle it for you) in the center and Hollywood Studios (formerly MGM) to the right.
Photobucket

Photobucket
Oh no! The Yeti ripped up the tracks!
Photobucket

Going backwards... there's the Yeti!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Sorry for the Interruption- We're Baaack

Did you miss me? I've been busy! We left for Disney Friday night and while we did bring our laptop, I just never pulled it out. Can you believe it? I didn't get on the computer all. weekend. long. Wow. That's just unheard of for me.

So anyhoo, we left Friday night after dh got home from work (and after dinner) and headed to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. We apparently got the ghetto (dh's words) side of the hotel. LOL That's what you get when you go *cheap* at a deluxe hotel. Our balcony looked out over the parking lot and the bus stop. We also had a rather large piece of equipment right outside and since the bus stop was there, we had buses running back and forth from 6am-2am. You'd just hear a deep rumbling sound when they pulled up. We always take a noise machine with us so it didn't bother me so much but dh didn't like it.

We ended up with a bunk bed room with dh and I in a queen size bed and the boys in the bunks which they loved. They're used to those. Bella was relegated to the pack and play in the middle of both. Her bedtime is usually 6:30 and we pushed her to 8:30/9pm for two nights. So we were in bed early both nights. I must say that the boys were very good about keeping quiet and going to sleep so Bella wouldn't wake up. Dh listened to his audio book and I played the DS until we got tired. Despite it being a luxury bed and all(there was a catalog so you could buy all the sheets, mattress, pillows, etc), all we did was toss and turn. There's just nothing like your own spot in your own bed with your own pillows. The only part of hotel life I do love is the curtains. No matter how high the sun is, your room is as dark as you want it.

The hotel is simply gorgeous. The lobby is amazing and there are so many artifacts on display. I wish we had had more time there to explore and hang out. There are three savannahs in which you can see animals. We even went out and looked thru night vision goggles last night. Very cool! The pool is large and there were quite a few people swimming (it's heated). They have a nice playground, fitness and massage rooms, a sitdown restaurant (Jiko), buffet restaurant(Boma) and also a casual quick service area(Mara).

One major duh on Disney's part: The lobby is considered the 3rd floor. Our room was on the 2nd floor. The way they explained how to get to our room confused me but they said we had to go down this hallway and take the elevator down. We spotted elevators and took them down but couldn't find our room. The numbers didn't even match up so we had to go back up and ask again. Dh wasn't happy about dragging our 2 suitcases around. Apparently when they built this wing, it wasn't connected to the main elevators. We had to go down the hallway next to the elevators and about halfway down there we found another elevator and we had to take that one down to our floor. Confusing!

We had a really good time though and upcoming posts will include the Hollywood Studios, Lego Store, T-Rex Cafe and Animal Kingdom. I'll upload all our pics and share them this week as I get time. I've got to unpack, do laundry (already started) and get back into a routine. Fun, fun!

P.S. I'm getting really, really depressed at the thought of no longer having Disney passes. They expire Feb 19th so only 3 more weekends to go. Waahhh. Anyone want to gift me $1200 for more? Ian was very unhappy when we had to leave today. How do you explain to a 3yr old that's been going whenever he/we wanted that he can no longer go and won't get to go again for a few years? Heck, Logan doesn't get it! So depressing. :*(

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Service Outage

Dear World:
The United States of America, your quality supplier of Ideals of Liberty and Democracy, would like to apologize for its 2001-2008 service outage.

The technical fault that led to this eight-year service interruption has been located, and the software responsible was replaced Tuesday night, November 4th.

Early tests of the newly-installed program indicate that we are now operating correctly, and we expect it to be fully functional by mid-January.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the outage, and we look forward to resuming full service---and hopefully to even improve it in years to come.

Thank you for your patience and understanding,
The USA

F-f-f-freezing

Brrr It's COLD outside! I feel for my dad who's been camping this week. It got down to 25 degrees in my area last night. Um hello? Did someone forget to give out the memo that this is FLORIDA?! Global warming my arse.

Anyhoo, I've been bundling the kids up the best I can given we are Floridians and don't own a whole lot of cold weather clothes. Poor Bella this morning was so bundled up that she couldn't crawl. She kept falling over. Hahaha! She was not happy. Thank goodness for remote starters on our cars. I started my truck 10min before we had to leave and it was nice and warm inside. The outside of the truck however was ice. Yes, we had ice last night. I've got pictures to prove it! The kids thought it was neat. Ian and I walked around the house a bit when we got home from dropping off Logan at school to take some pics and to play with the ice on the truck.

Luckily for us this is FL and it will be back in the low 60s by this afternoon. A 40 degree temp difference! By tomorrow night, the freezing temps will be behind us for at least another week and our weekend at Disney will be perfect! It will be back in the 70s all weekend long. Yippee!! I can break out my capris and tshirts once again. And don't forget the flip flops. For my northern friends, don't be jealous. I know y'all are freezing your tushies off but your time will come. I'll be jealous of your mild temps in the summer when we're sweating to death. :)


Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

MNO Tonight

I've been at the Melting Pot all night and I've got to get ready for bed now so I'll update you tomorrow on all our fun!

Bella's 9mo well visit

Aye yi yi. No I haven't changed pediatrician's yet. Yes, I'm just lazy and like bitching about him.

Everything went pretty well today. My main problem was with the nurse. I no sooner put Bella on the scale and she was pushing the button to show the weight (14lbs 15oz). I said, no, she weighs more than that so she tried again and this time she was 15lbs 14oz (3%). That one pound makes a big difference on the charts! Then she measured her length- 27.5in (33%) but marked it in the computer as 23.5in. Umm she just lost 4 inches! And then she measured her head- 15.5in., 16.5in. the 2nd time and finally the Dr. did it and it was 17in which is right on target. Good heavens. Slow down and take your time already. Our ped still wants her to gain some weight but she's on the same curve as the last appt and she's perfectly healthy so I'm not worried about it AT. ALL. She loves her food. All in all, a good appt. She's most definitely my petite baby girl.

So her stats at 9mo (although technically she'll be 10mo this weekend)
weight- 15lbs 14oz (3%)
height- 27.5 inches (33%)


Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Inauguration Day

What a great day! I watched bits and pieces of the Presidential Inauguration today (as much as I could with 2 kids at home) and enjoyed it a lot. Our new president speaks well, carries himself well and seems so down to earth. I know he's made a lot of promises and I really hope he can make good on many of them. I also know he's a politician and you just can't trust them. LOL I'm very excited about this new era and I hope President Obama can bring a new voice for the people of the USA. It was wonderful to see so many people out there today supporting him and to see so many US flags flying. Not since 9-11 have I seen such a display of patriotism.

I also noticed him with his family today. What a sweet family they are. He and his wife both seem so down to earth and in love. They have danced at a few balls tonight and are just so cute together. His children are lovely and I hope they take to this new life easily even though I can't imagine it being easy at all.

Lots of luck to you Mr President. May God watch over you and your family and God bless America!

Sad but true

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=19852075

Why does this *I Spy* bag cost over $17,000? Read the description! Way to go CPSIA!

Monday, January 19, 2009

Little Loopy

My friend Nicole C. up in frigid Michigan recommended a new vodka to me the other day and on a whim I grabbed a bottle this afternoon. It's called Sweet Tea Vodka. There are 2 brands right now available here which are the original Firefly brand and now the Carolina brand. The clerk at ABC recommended the Carolina brand over the Firefly as he'd had both and to make it even sweeter- the new brand was $6 cheaper.

So anyway, after all the kiddos were in bed I decided to break out the bottle. It calls for mixing it was 1 part water and 1 part vodka or lemonade. I tried a small, small amt just mixed with water but it was too strong that way so I experimented and made up some Crystal Light rasp lemonade and added some water (bc CL is always too sweet) and some of the vodka. O.M.G. It is soo good! It was like drinking a rasp tea with a hint of lemon. Of course, I did the *bad* thing and sucked it up with a straw so now I'm feeling rather loopy. ;) I'm a happy drinker. I don't drink- ever- anymore so just that little taste plus the one glass has me feeling very good. My arms and legs feel all funny and I keep misspelling lemonade and have to keep going back to fix it. LOL I think I'll be sleeping very well tonight but I'll be saving the drinking for the weekend from now on. Next MNI- I may be bringing a bottle to share!

Sunday, January 18, 2009

Girl's Day

It was just Bella and me today. Dh took the boys to his mom's house for a few hours so Bella and I went shopping at Bealls. Since I knew I was planning on trying some clothes on I put her in her stroller instead of wearing her. She was okay at first but the minute I closed that fitting room door she had had enough. Haha. I tried cheerios and shushing her but she was tired and she could see me in the mirror and just wanted me. Once I reclined her seat and pushed her around a bit though she fell asleep and shopping became a tad easier. I ended up with just 2 pairs of capris although I may go back for a Teez-Her tank. Since I knew she probably wouldn't tolerate another store we came home afterwards and chilled by ourselves. We ate some dinner, played on the floor and couch and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Please vote!

Car seat safety is an issue I'm passionate about. Too many children are not restrained in the car properly if at all. It makes me sick everyday when I take my son to school or pick him up and see so many kids even smaller than him that don't buckle up or don't have any kind of car seat in their caregiver's vehicle.

Florida laws SUCK when it comes to child passenger safety. Did you know at 4 years old they can legally sit in just a seat belt? Did you know that car seat belts are built to size for the average adult not a small child? Do you know the internal damage that can occur for a child using a seatbelt without a booster or an improperly used booster or seatbelt? The shoulder belt is there for a purpose! Did you know a child in a booster seat is 59% LESS likely to be injured or killed that a child in just a seat belt?

I could go on and on but with a new president comes the chance- even if it's slight- to make your thoughts known on this and many other issues. I urge you to go to the Citizen's Briefing Book at Change.gov and vote for your hot button issues. If you type in Car Seats, you'll find a few different letters. Please VOTE to bump these up so our government will see that this means something to us. HERE is one letter and HERE is another if you can't find them for some reason.

Also, please vote to repeal the CPSIA law that is to go into effect on February 10, 2009. This law will put so many work at home/stay at home parents and small companies out of business. Not only does this affect those families trying to supplement their income but it will also have a direct effect on the economy. How about they go after the paint mfg and the jewelry mfg that make the lead paint and metals?! Go after the Chinese made products. Leave the American produced and European made toys(who have strict guidelines and testing already in place) and children's items such slings, clothes and books alone.

Make your voice known!

Darn DMV

Why are they making me go down to the DMV to renew my license this year? Why can't they just send me the darn sticker? They are even making me retake the eye exam. Ugh. I have until my birthday next month to get it done and I'm dreading it. It means taking at least 2 of the kids with me and even with an appt I'm sure I'll be sitting there and waiting. I guess the good thing is that it will show a slimmer me on the new picture, right? I hope they don't make me do a written test, I may just fail! LOL It's been a long time since I read that book. I think my record should just speak for itself- no tickets, no accidents. (KNOCK ON WOOD!!!)

And it made me make an appt with my new optometrist to get new contacts which I did today. I went to Costco and WOW their prices are fantastic! I'm used to paying something like $300-400 for exam and lenses and I paid right at $200 today for everything. I'm stoked about that. I didn't have time to pick out glasses but that's next. Mine are old, old, old. Now if I can only get dh in there for an exam...he needs all new everything too!

Friday, January 16, 2009

Honor Roll

Logan got his first report card today with actual *grades* on it (the 1st 9 weeks were blank) and he made honor roll along with getting a Citizenship award and he got a pencil (he brings home more pencils that we'll ever be able to use LOL) for having no tardies. His report card showed he was above grade level for math, reading and writing and he got excellents for everything else. Yay Logan!

Doomed

I'm doomed to be a 14 until she weans. Doomed! Ugh.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Think Light

And cross all fingers and toes for me tomorrow as I attempt a weigh in. I lost NADA my first week back on WW. I'm used to losing at least 3-4lbs the first week and hell, I'd take even one. Am I doomed to stay the same weight until Bella weans? That would be yet another year minimum hopefully. Think light for me tonight! You'll see my ticker move if anything happens, that is if I even remember or have time to do it in the morning. Knowing me, I'll completely forget.

Just my luck

Why is it that everyday I get to school early so I can park up front and inevitably a big ass truck/SUV will park -this- close to me so I can't open Logan's door and buckle him in? Really? The other day I had to climb in my door, lean over Bella's seat in the middle and struggle to get Logan buckled. Ugh.

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

(almost) Wordless Wednesday

All three of my babies at approx 9-10 months old.

Logan
Photobucket

Ian
Photobucket

Bella
Photobucket

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Simple Woman's Day Book...

That's what today's blog is. Sorry I don't have more for you.
Photobucket

FOR TODAY - January 13, 2009
Outside my window... It's dark, cloudy and cold.
I am thinking...Should I go to the grocery store or not? I'm lazy and it's cold.
I am thankful for...my family, our health, food on the table and the roof over our heads.
From the kitchen... I hear the click, click, click of my dog's nails.
I am wearing... jeans, my cute black top and fuzzy slippers.
I am creating... nothing. I buy stuff to start projects that never. get. done.
I am going... to the kitchen to make popcorn once the boys are in bed.
I am reading... Marley & Me and various magazines.
I am hoping... that I can find clothes that fit me and are warm for the rest of the week.
I am hearing... the pitter patter of little feet running thru the house.
Around the house... the boys are getting ready for bed, the toys are all over the floor and the dishwasher and washing machine are full and waiting for me...
One of my favorite things... hearing my children's laughter
A few plans for the rest of the week: back and forth to school, tumbling class, and possibly a day trip to Disney.
Here is a picture thought I am sharing...
Photobucket
These are my playgroup friends back in 2003 I believe. We're all still friends too.
Our kids have all gotten so big!

Monday, January 12, 2009

Low fat yummy cookies!

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

These are cake-like cookies and so good!

Ingredients-
1 box Spice Cake mix
1 15oz can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

Mix ingredients together and drop by spoonfuls (I used a cookie scoop) onto greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for 10-12 min.

**you can also make a cake like this.

My recipe made approx 60 cookies and my nutritional stats for each cookie were 38cal/ 0.6fat/ .29fiber or 1 WW pt each.

New Blog Header

I like to keep it fresh. I made this today thanks to Annie Brigg's Tomboy kit. I love the colors! The font is called Pass the Chex.