Thursday, March 19, 2009

I'm back

I got a yucky tummy bug on Tuesday and I'm getting better but I'm not 100% yet. I had dh take Logan to tumbling tonight so I could hang at home. I'm supposed to be cleaning but then who will watch Bella? ;) Heaven forbid I stick her in a playpen!

So here are just a few catch-ups from this week. We got to see the space shuttle Discovery go up on Sunday night. Beautiful launch! We didn't actually go over to the Cape but we were able to see it just fine from way over here. We're a good 3 hour drive from the Cape on the other coast so it's really neat to know we can still see it! Unfortunately my SLR camera had an issue (easily fixed) but I wasn't able to take photos with it at the moment so I had to run and grab my little P&S so that means quality isn't the greatest, especially at night with the long zoom.

Smoke trail
Photobucket

Photobucket
That star looking thing is the boosters falling back to earth. Remember, we're clear across the state!
Photobucket

St Patty's Day was Tuesday and Logan had to make a leprechaun trap for school. I'm not an engineering major (or minor!) so this was the best I could do. The one dh made for Ian last minute was far better. It had a fake floor and trap door!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

That morning they visited our house first. Thet left a box of Lucky Charms cereal and turned the milk green. They also left some green beaded necklaces for the boys to wear. His class loved when they came back from lunch and they had been visited by those little green men. They left footprints, peed green in the class bathroom and left some candy.

Other than that our week has been pretty much the same old, same old. I'm still trying to pick a date for Bella's birthday. More than likely it will the the 1st weekend of April. No competing with her uncle's 40th birthday that way. I've gotten most of the stuff I needed and her birthday dress came in the mail today! It's so cute! I can't believe she's almost one already. It seems like I just had her. Time goes by way too quickly!


Photobucket

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Salmonella?

Is there a recall on the horizon? Or am I just the only one who happened to get sick? The only thing different I ate yesterday was some organic spinach from Costco in my sandwich. Yesterday my tummy was feeling a bit icky but today- WHAM- I got hit. My tummy hurts, I'm exhausted and I get cold easily (no fever). I took a nap and I still feel tired. Noone in the house seems to be affected. I'm scared to even eat the rest of the fresh spinach in there or serve it. I did rinse if off before eating it btw. So now I sit here popping Immodium, sipping on water/grape juice and eating crackers in the hopes that this goes away soon so I can function and take care of my kids. Ugh. I doubt I'll be taking Logan to tumbling so I think another nap will be in order later.

Photobucket

Monday, March 16, 2009

I got an award!

Photobucket

My dear friend Mandie gave me this award today. She's one of the sweetest people I know and is always ready to help you out. I love reading her blog, not only to see her 2 beautiful kids but to get tips and bargains too! I wish she lived closer!

The rules of this award are simple:

1. Write 10 honest (and hopefully interesting) things about yourself.
2. Pass this award onto 7 bloggers who you find brilliant in content and design.

In total random order...

1) I talk a good game but never do anything. I always say I want to try do some craft and I'll buy the materials and never do it. I have ribbon and hair clips in my room as I type just waiting to be made into bows for Bella.

2) I'm not an organized person. Never have been. My desk is a disaster and how I find anything is a miracle.

3) No secret here, but I love Disney. I love Disney movies, Disney characters and especially the Disney parks. I could go every. single. weekend if allowed. Just move me into the castle right now!

4) I'm a TV addict. If not for my DVR I wouldn't know what to do. My bedroom is my hiding spot. I love to lay in bed and chill out.

5) I lost over 70 lbs 2 years ago via Weight Watchers. I've since gained back a little over thirty due to pregnancy and not eating right. I'm trying to get back on track though!

6) I love to listen to loud bass music- the kind that makes your trunk thump. Usually it's hip hop, rap or r&b. I do NOT like country music although there are a couple of crossover singers I like.

7) I'm already getting grey silver hairs at the ripe age of 34 ... ahem 29. Yes, I cover those suckers up!

8) If given the money I would totally do plastic surgery. Lipo, LASIK, boob lift and who knows what else.

9) I want a 4th child but I know I will probably never have him/her due to space constrictions and lack of money. Maybe if the economy ever turns around and dh gets more money we can look into it again. We'd need to add onto our house though and we don't have that kind of moola laying around.

10) My husband and I only dated for a few months (2-3?) before getting engaged and we were married one year from our engagement date. We'll be married 10 years in May. :)

So now I have to pick 7 other people. I'm going to follow Mandie's trend though and just pick one. I like this person's blog as she has such a sense of humor and I just love to see what she'll write next. She's also a great friend in real life. This award goes now to my friend Julie.


Photobucket

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Monkeying around at the zoo

I had been trying to decide for a few days what I should do with the kids today. Dh was going to Daytona for the day for some car stereo show thingy so we would be on our own. After much thought and a last minute decision this morning I decided to surprise the kids with a trip to the zoo. It turned out to be a beautiful day for it. Eighty degrees and sunny with a light breeze. Our passes expired last year and I guess today was a good day to get new ones as we got 2 ride wristbands free today so the boys got to ride anything they wanted all day.

Our first ride was the carousel. While it wasn't Bella's first ride on a carousel (we've done Disney but I wore her) it was her first ride on an actual horse and she really wasn't sure about it. I don't think she felt safe even though my arms were around her. She whined the entire time but never cried. She looked so cute though on her white horse. Just like a little princess. :)
Photobucket

I felt for this poor mama. I know how she feels.
Photobucket

My boys love roller coasters!! I had no idea this was even there. It took the place of a car ride that they used to ride.
Photobucket

The meerkats are always so adorable. They were up close today and almost seemed to pose for the camera. Say *Insects*. (instead of cheese, get it? ;))
Photobucket

This picture just fits their personalities so well.
Photobucket

I bribed Logan into riding the camel with Ian. Ian really wanted to go. What did I bribe him with? Fruit Pearls. They were yummy!
Photobucket
Photobucket

They were itching to play in the water by this time. Bella fell asleep once we sat down so she didn't go in to play.
Photobucket

My wild boy
Photobucket

Sleeping beauty
Photobucket

They've changed this since I was there last too. Now it's a very shallow pool. Just a few inches deep.
Photobucket

Look who woke up!
Photobucket

Oh and for my local friends, there are new restaurants!
This one is at the Safari Lodge at the beginning of Africa near the meerkats.
Photobucket

This one is across from the zebras/giraffes. It's a sit down/table service restaurant.
Photobucket


Photobucket

Friday, March 13, 2009

Foto Friday

Can you believe this baby will be a year old in less than two weeks?!

Photobucket

Silly Sniffy Face
Photobucket


Photobucket

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Testing again...

Trying to resize my new siggie.


Photobucket

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Trying something new

One of my goals for this year was to cut back on my soda consumption. I was drinking 2 a day, sometimes 3. I did okay for a bit and then went back to my habit. After reading a thread on one of my boards about the side effects of artificial sweeteners (headaches, joint aches, cravings) I'm going to quit eating/drinking them. Maybe I'll indulge once in a while but I'm going to really try not to buy any diet drinks and I'm not going to use Splenda anymore in my tea.

I started today. I'm out of soda anyway so it's not like I could just grab one. One of the things people say about A.S. is that it makes you crave food, particularly sweet foods. I guess the premise is that your body knows your eating a sweet but it's not getting the calories from that sweet so you crave those calories. I could have that wrong but I think that was the idea.

So without my Diet Pepsi today I drank water and I made up a simple syrup and made up some iced tea. Usually between breakfast (2 eggs and milk) and lunch I have a snack. Nothing today. After lunch I always want a sweet. Nothing today. I was full! (Had a whole wheat pita with a Boca, tzatziki and lettuce plus some sunchips). I'm always hungry between lunch and dinner. Nothing today! I don't have a craving at all. Like I said, this may be all in my head but hey if it works than I'm healthier than I was yesterday. Hopefully I can stick with it.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Party Planning part 2

I am slowly getting there. The balloons, adult favors and goody bags are all ordered and have been shipped. The dress will be finished this weekend and shipped.

Now I just need to get the balloons so I can buy the right color plates to match and find stuff to fill the goody bags with. All I have right now are pink Hershey kisses and Krazy Straws. I wanted cupcake themed stuff but I'm having a tough time with that. Oriental Trading has some cute stuff but shipping is crazy.

I think I've decided on cake flavors and if I can pull it all off in the next few weeks, all cakes/cupcakes will be homemade. We'll see how much I can accomplish with one clingy 11mo old and a 3 yr old who always wants my attention plus school pickups/drop offs and tumbling classes and a dh who is only home 1 day a week lately. Wish me luck!

More party stuff to come...

Monday, March 09, 2009

Leprechaun trap

St Patty's day is almost upon us and we have been given the task of building a leprechaun trap for school. Tonight Logan and I went shopping for supplies. We ended up with a green cauldron, green felt, shamrock confetti and stickers, gold coin confetti, a green mug (smaller than a shot glass), green *Easter* grass and an assorted bag of pipe cleaners. Here's our thinking. We're going to decorate the cauldron with the stickers, use the handle to make the rainbow, and cut the felt to just fit the top of the cauldron. We'll lure the leprechaun in with the *beer* mug (Logan read the sign and told me we weren't allowed to drink beer LOL) and the gold coins. When he steps on the felt to get to the coins, he'll fall into the grass inside the cauldron and be caught! I'll post pics once it's done.

St Patty's day is also a day of mischief. In past years the leprechauns have left Lucky Charms cereal (the only time of year they get to eat it), small green toys/snacks/misc, green milk and footprints behind. I'm sure this year they'll get into even more mischief!

Saturday, March 07, 2009

The vote is a 3 way tie!!

**Update- Dh really liked dress #2 so I was outvoted again. That's okay. It really was one of my first picks and I only nixed it bc she has a similar dress already. I can't wait to see it!


#2, 3 & 5 are all tied with 10 votes. You guys are not making this easy! I think I may have picked a winner though. I'm not thrilled with the stitching job done on #5 nor do I care for the jeweled buttons and if I'm going to pay that much for a dress, it better be done well soooo I think I've decided on...drum roll please....


Dress # 3

Here's my reasoning. I really like #2 but she already owns a brown dress with pink polka dots. It would be like owning the same dress minus the applique. #3 is just the opposite PLUS I've found an good deal on balloons and they are pink and brown so everything would coordinate nicely. You can see the balloons here although this not where I'm buying them. There will be one large cupcake balloon (1st pic) and 2 of the round cupcake (2nd pic) plus 9 pink/brown/white latex balloons and ribbon included. (I'll post about the new site in a few)

I'm still second guessing myself here so please feel free to chime in!!

Nastiness

Cigarette smoke must be one of the foulest smelling things on earth. I loathe cigarette smoke. I avoid it at all costs which sometimes means I don't go to some people's homes- or at least not very often but other times it's just unavoidable or there will be hurt feelings. People aren't even smoking around us while we're there. The stench is embedded in the house though since they smoke inside the rest of the time. I praised the day that smoking was banned in restaurants!

We were at one of those houses today for a birthday (family) and the minute you walk in the door the smell hits you like a ton of bricks. You really don't want to sit on the furniture but you might as well since your clothes will reak of smoke anyway when you leave. I hate bringing the diaper bag or my purse in. We got home tonight and as soon as I walked in the door I was changing clothes. I had to bathe Bella and get her to bed before I could hit the shower. My hair reaked, my clothes reaked. It was disgusting. My main issue though is I have this weird nasal thing where the smoke scent will stay in my nose for hours or days. It feels like someone is just blowing smoke at my face. My breath catches sometimes and I get headaches from it. My nose burns like the day I was in the house even though we haven't been around smoke for a long time. It's really strange and very annoying! Here I sit smelling smoke and there's none around me. Nasty!

Thursday, March 05, 2009

Party Planning Mode

***Update: Dh has nixed outfits #6 & 7 so vote for one of the first 5.


It's in full force now! Bella's 1st birthday is coming up quick! I'm having a Cupcake theme with plenty of pink of course. ;) I bought a giant Wilton 3D cupcake pan today and also the miniature version (which is still rather big) for her smash cake. I'm thinking of making the cake from scratch. We'll see about that!

I'm going to get cupcake balloons with coordinating regular balloons, a 1st birthday cupcake dress and I'm planning on decorating her highchair as well. Not sure the specifics on that since I don't sew though. I really want to cover her seat cover in pink but it doesn't look easy. Maybe a pink towel is just the way to go. I also think I'll make a pink tutu to dress her highchair up. I'll just go with plain colored plates/cups/etc more than likely. It's cheaper that way. Although these are really cute!!

Here are a few of the dresses I'm looking at for her (in no particular order) and of course she'll have a coordinating cupcake bow/clip for her hair. I'll have to find one of those after I pick a dress! Go vote for one or more of the dresses over <----there!

Dress #1
Dress #2
Dress #3 (much like #2- same seller)
Dress #4
Dress #5 (Has now been sold out BUT she's going to see if she has enough fabric for another)
Dress #6
Dress #7 (to be worn with a tutu of my making)

I've already bought her 1st gift from us. It's this adorable tea set from Fisher Price. Having a girl is going to get expensive! LOL There's so much I want to buy for her- tea sets and doll carriages, doll houses (not Barbie, a *real* one) and lots of cute felt foods. Baby dolls and accessories and of course all the dress up clothes eventually. Come on lotto! ;)

Wednesday, March 04, 2009

New Glasses

Here they are finally. I hate pictures of myself.

Photobucket

Tuesday, March 03, 2009

Mark & Olly

Have you seen this show yet? It's actually very interesting. I watched last season as well. These two guys go off into some of the most remote places on earth and live with different tribes of people. They become immersed in the culture and ultimately become adopted family.

I was watching last week's episode today and was taken by the babywearing I saw in the show. I'm fascinated by other cultures and love to see how they care for their babies. Since I was watching on TV, I grabbed my trusty camera and took some shots of the TV (hence any graininess and the stretching of the people). From what I can tell, they appear to wear their children in a pouch of sorts as I don't see any kind of knots. I must say, I'd think they'd be much more comfortable if they spread that fabric over their shoulder instead of bunching it at the neck.

Here's one mother wearing two of her children. One in front and the other behind her with the pouch over her head. I can't imagine that being comfortable!
Photobucket

Mark & Olly were given an infant wooly monkey to care for after the villager's killed the parents for food. Here Mark is tying a jacket or shirt around Olly's neck as sort of a sling.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sunday, March 01, 2009

Where'd the weekend go?

It seems to have flown by! You already know what I did on Saturday. I woke up so sore this morning. My arms mainly my biceps are sore and my obliques? (the sides of my torso) are sore. It hurts to laugh! LOL Saturday night though my BIL called and said he was bringing over ice cream for the boys (and us of course!) and he and his GF (and hopefully fiancée one day!!) came over and hung out for a while. We played on the Wii Fit and the Xbox for a while before they left. The boys love their uncles!

Today was spent doing laundry and then my MIL came by with a birthday gift for me. I got a GC to Target, Burt's Bees hand kit, Turbie Twist towels and some more Burt's Bees body wash and lotion. There were a few other odds and ends in there too. I have the Turbie Twist in my hair now. I love it so far. I always wrap my hair in a towel and this is easier and more lightweight, plus it's not falling off my head! BIL and GF came by for a short time too to see his mom and that was it for my day. I did do a bit of grocery shopping too. I spend too much time at the grocery store. We go thru stuff so fast it seems!

The leaves from Saturday never got bagged as it was raining this morning. It was also quite windy so some of my leaves have been blown back all over the yard. Joy, joy. I'm betting it won't get done for at least 2 more weeks either. Dh will be working again on Saturday (he's trying to make some extra moola) and Sunday he's supposed to head over to St Pete to help a family member with her computer. I'm betting there will be a bday party on Sunday as well for our niece too. Not enough hours in a day or days in a week, I swear! I still have to prepare and plan for Bella's 1st birthday. There are so many people in our families plus all our friends and I have no idea where to put them all. I guess that's a post for another time though.

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Pettiskirt GIVEAWAY!!!!

Blushing Buttercream Pettiskirt GIVEAWAY!!!!

Aren't these adorable? I'd love to have portraits done with Bella wearing one! Go check it out and enter to win one for the little girl in your life.

Temporary Insanity

I don't know what got into me this morning. Dh went to work today and was gone all day. I thought about going to the zoo and decided against it for monetary reasons. I thought about the park but didn't get moving fast enough so I just decided out of the blue to let the kids play out back while I RAKED. Yes. I raked the backyard. Noone can be as shocked as I am. I loathe raking. I was made to rake the yard when I was a teen and I told dh I never wanted to do it again. Same goes for mowing the yard- hence the reason we pay someone else to do it!

Now we have a pretty good size backyard and there are 3 oak trees back there so there were quite a few leaves. At first I thought I'd do half and let him do half. Then I got 2/3 done and I said I can keep going. Then my blister broke (even though I was wearing gloves) and I suffered thru it with a bandaid. And I finished the whole damn thing. Phew. I even wore Bella on my back for a good hour to hour and a half of it and she slept back there. It was a beautiful day with a light breeze so even though it was warm and I was sweating a bit it didn't feel so bad. The last hour or so she spent in her exersaucer in the shade though. It felt nice to get her off my back and cool off a bit.

I don't think our yard has ever been raked. The leaves towards the neighbor's house (and their tree!) were the thickest. We're also on a downslope from them so everytime I'd rake near the fence more leaves from their side would fall thru. I'm just hoping we can get some grass to grow back there now or something! I did leave dh some work though. He gets the fun job of bagging all the piles and there's about 30 of them. I think his lil' bro may come help out tomorrow morning. We'll see! I'm just proud of myself that I did it. I was ready to give up a few times. It seemed so daunting at the time. Just don't ask or expect me to do often in the future!

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Funny picture

I totally had one of these when I was a kid!! I forgot about it until I saw this picture. I'll let you decide what it resembles. ;)

Photobucket

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Yet another

Bella was quite upset yesterday. She's been scratching at her ears and face and turning her head from food when in her highchair so I knew something was up. I went to nurse her before bed and she tried before turning her head and crying. I'd try again and she'd bite me before pulling off again. She isn't a biter usually and certainly isn't a fussy eater. I got up and gave her some teething tablets and then decided some Motrin was in order. She was just not herself. I gave it a few minutes to kick in and tried to nurse her yet again and this time she was okay. Poor baby was just in pain. I flipped her upside down this afternoon and she opened her mouth to laugh/smile and lo and behold- there was a new tooth! That makes #5. She'll have a mouth full before I know it!

Monday, February 23, 2009

Don't ask!

Why do husbands do this? Dh calls me to let me know he's at Sams Club with one of his bosses (we won't go into the fact that I need to go grocery shopping and he's not here to take over). So he proceeds to ask if I need anything from Sams. Umm we haven't had a membership there in probably a year or more. What would I need? I ask if they are carrying organic milk. "I don't think so." Do they carry unsweetened applesauce? "I don't know." Well why the hell are you asking me if I need anything if you aren't going to go look?! It sounded like they were already checking out. Grrr

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Who's that cutie?

My mom showed up this afternoon with a rather old fashioned dress in her hand. She handed me the dress and then the second picture below. I had no idea she had kept it! She claims I was 1-1.5 years old at the time but after comparing these two pictures I think she has her timeline off since I look about 1 in the first photo. The dress is full length but could easily fit a 2-3 year old. I'd love to have Bella's photos done in the dress too eventually but the lace is yellowed so I'm going to have to try to get it white again first. Any suggestions?

Sorry for the photo of the photo. Dh took my scanner to work.
See?! I really was blonde at one point!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Saturday, February 21, 2009

¿ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn

ןoן ˙ɹǝʌo ɹǝʇndɯoɔ ǝɥʇ sdıןɟ ɹo sǝdʎʇ puɐ pɐǝɥ ɹǝɥ uo spuɐʇs ʇsnɾ ǝɥs ˙ǝuuɐɥ puǝıɹɟ ʎɯ ɯoɹɟ pǝuɹɐǝן ı ¿ʞsɐ noʎ ʇı ƃuıop ı ɯɐ ʍoɥ ¿pɐǝʇsuı uʍop ǝpısdn ǝʇoɹʍ ı ɟı ƃoןq ʎɯ ƃuıpɐǝɹ ǝnuıʇuoɔ ןןɐ noʎ pןnoʍ ¿ןooɔ ɹǝɥʇɐɹ sıɥʇ ʇ,usı

What do you think? ;)

Friday, February 20, 2009

Cuppycakes

I've recently discovered two CUTE songs that I've been playing for Bella. One I'm learning to sing to her and the other she just likes to dance to. She smiles when she hears it come on. I wish I could catch her on camera but she's always in my lap.

Here's one of the songs. Stroller Town And the LYRICS.

And here's the other song. Cuppycakes

You're my Honeybunch, Sugarplum
Pumpy-umpy-umpkin, You're my Sweetie Pie
You're my Cuppycake, Gumdrop
Snoogums-Boogums, You're the Apple of my Eye


And I love you so and I want you to know
That I'll always be right here
And I love to sing sweet songs to you
Because you are so dear

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

My sick little boy

My poor baby is sick. He got sick Monday night but slept thru the night. Woke up Tuesday okay. Even ate some breakfast. By mid-morning he wasn't feeling so great again and fell asleep on the couch. Fell asleep again around 5:30 when I left to take Logan to class.

This morning around 4:30AM Bella woke up crying. I went to get her and I heard noises from the boys' room. Opened the door and Logan is playing his DS and Ian's awake as well. Um hello?! It's 4 freakin 30! I nipped that real quick and told them both to get back to sleep and I took the DS with me. Logan didn't want to get up for school this morning- surprise, surprise! Anyway, when Ian woke up he didn't want breakfast. He was quite proud that he made his own cup of juice though and let me know it several times while I was still sleeping. Apparently I didn't say Good Job to him and that's the only answer he would take. As I realized later tonight though, I never ran the dishwasher last night and that cup was dirty. Yuck! He didn't eat lunch. He didn't eat dinner. He has had nothing but a few crackers and a lot of juice, milk and mainly water. Poor baby was in tears tonight because his tummy hurt. He let out a gag though and a big burp and appeared to feel a bit better though before bed.

Here's a pic I took of him this morning. He was all bundled up (been running a 101.x fever consistently) and just started nodding off while sitting on the couch. I hate seeing him so miserable but I must say that's it's been nice and quiet with no yelling, fussing or fighting. He just wants hugs and kisses and someone to cover him up. I hope he's back to his self soon though. I miss his smile and laugh.

Photobucket

Wordless Wednesday

Photobucket

Photobucket

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Misc. happnins'

Where to begin... I'll try not to bore you with too much Disney stuff but we had a great weekend.

Friday night though something a bit strange happened. We were walking around DHS and this young woman (late teens/early 20s maybe) came running up behind me and started touching Bella. What the hell are you doing is what I was thinking but I was nice. She was visiting from out of the country and didn't speak much English but wanted to tell me how cute she was. She asked Bella's name and age using her limited English. I was flattered but a bit weirded out too. That was weird right?

Sunday we spent all day at MK. It was packed but the crowds were very manageable. We got a lot done. It was really sad leaving. I would have stayed all night but dh had to work on Monday so we left around 8ish. The parade was going on and the crowds were too thick to walk thru so we got a *backstage pass*. Okay not really but we got to go behind the buildings on MainStreet where only castmembers are allowed in order to avoid the parade crowd. It was rather cool even though there wasn't much to see. I wish I had taken some pics! It was a parking lot and I saw some office type buildings back there and a few signs CM's might put out that I'd never seen before. Nothing too interesting but any inside look is neat to me!

Monday was spent cleaning up a bit and just relaxing. We've been go-go-go for several days so it was nice to sleep in and do almost nothing. Of course something had to happen. Ian started feeling ill last night and vomited a couple of times. He slept all night thankfully. He woke up today okay and we even went shopping but around 11am he fell asleep for probably 2 hours. I took advantage and napped too. I didn't want to get up! I know he's not well when he takes an impromptu nap. Apparently he fell asleep around 5:30 tonight too. Poor baby. He's running a fever and it's just taking a toll on him. Cross your fingers and keep us in your thoughts that this doesn't spread thru the house. It's apparently going around!

Oh and did I mention that one of my hard drives died? Crapola!!! Dh was able to retrieve most pictures and video and all our pics were backed up but I did lose some favorite websites and some documents and pictures like blog headers and ALL my digiscrapping files. Blah! I'm trying to get my PC back to normal. I hate change. So that's part of the reason I haven't been around much. Sometimes technology can really suck.

Monday, February 16, 2009

This is why you're fat

Have you seen this website? http://thisiswhyyourefat.com/

Wow. Some stuff sounds interesting (desserts) but other stuff sounds just plain nasty!

Sloppy Joe on a Krispy Kreme donut? Yuck!
Deep Fried Peanut Butter-Covered Brownie Wrapped In Cookie Dough- Sounds good!
The Double Bacon Hamburger Fatty Melt- can you say heart attack?
Giant Breakfast Burrito- holy crap! That could feed a family for a week!
The Meat Ship- looks and sounds nasty
Gregory’s 120 Ounce Steak- seriously????!!!
Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies- hmm sweet and salty?

Who eats this stuff?

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Happy Valentine's Day

What a day it was!! We had a party to attend this morning for my niece's 1st birthday. When I went outside to start loading the car I noticed egg shells on the ground. Looked over and there was dried egg on the back of dh's Civic. It had also splashed onto my truck so I called my mom to say we would be late. We couldn't just leave it there as it would ruin the paint. In the meantime I got the kids all buckled in and turned on my remote start and the A/C. Thinking dh was just about done I put the keys in the ignition just a few minutes later. That's where the fun began. He was spraying the OPPOSITE side of the car and decided to close my door (driver) not knowing my keys were in the ignition. When he did that my car locked. It automatically locks. And guess what? I don't have a spare key (I guess I need to spend the hundred+ $$ now for one) and the other remote won't work with the car on.

You'd think it wouldn't be so hard to fix. Logan was able to unbuckle his harness but apparently we never taught him how to manually unlock a door. Either that or my gifted student lacks common sense. It was really funny. Dh is yelling at him thru the window to unlock the door. Dh is pointing to where the button is. Logan keeps touching the window where dh is pointing. I really wish I had it on video. Over and over we tried. Next dh tells Logan to unbuckle Ian. Tried the same thing with Ian. Ian didn't get it either. All this could have been fine if my back window motors were working properly. They keep sticking. We had to finally tell Ian to climb to the passenger seat and roll the window down. That's how we finally got back in. That will teach me to never leave the keys in the car with the ignition on!

We did finally make it to the party about an hour late which was fine because some people didn't get there until even later and they hadn't even started cooking. The boys had fun and my niece's cake was adorable. Dh was none too happy that once again he was overlooked when it came to food. I think it's just rude not to accomodate certain dietary restrictions, especially when it comes to family. This would be twice this year too. Thankfully I found out about it right before we left and we made a pitstop at Subway.

After the party we headed back to Orlando and went to Epcot for a few hours. It was so busy! I hate that we are *forced* to use our passes this weekend. I say forced because it's our very last available time and being President's Day weekend, it's super busy. Afterwards we ran over to Downtown Disney where dh let them pick out some Legos as a Valentine's Day gift. I also grabbed a backpack for Logan to use for school if he wanted. It was a *really* good price and not something I wanted to pass up. And speaking of Valentines, dh got me a yummy box of Godiva dark chocolates and a stuffed Piglet (Ian picked it out). Ian also picked out a stuffed Squirt turtle from Finding Nemo for Bella. I got dh some Fudgie Wudgie and a couple of movies. Oh and unbeknowst to me until tonight, we got a new-to-us HD camcorder as well. Never used but the co-worker he got it from just bought a new one and sold dh this one. Yippee!!! We used it last night and today. It takes awesome video! So we had a good Valentine's Day. Hopefully all my friends and family did too!!

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Enough already!

First it was hives. Then it was xrays. Then it was hives again. Seriously? Enough already! I had to take Bella to the after hours pediatrician tonight when she started breaking out in hives again. Around 2pm I noticed a small mark near her eye. It looked like a welt but I didn't think much of it. When we got home I put her in her swing for a nap. Around 4:30 I went to get her and her right eye was swollen. It looked like someone had punched her. She was happy and smiling though. I noticed she had another one on her other eye and more on her face. Oh geez. She hadn't eaten anything unusual today and I haven't used any chemicals lately. The only other thing I could think of was the new school spirit shirt I was wearing. I just got it today and threw it on to check the sizing and never took it off. So I called our ped and sat on hold for 20 minutes waiting for a triage nurse before calling back to talk to one of the front girls who immediately got me a nurse. I got one of the first after hours appts for an hour later and took the poor baby in. She looked horrible and yet still so darn cute. Her face was so splotchy.

When I took off her dress in the exam room you could see a bunch of welts on her body- legs, arms, feet, back... I never even saw them at home. The lights there are just so much brighter. Got her weighed (16lbs 2.9oz) and took her temp (99.2) and saw a new pediatrician (very nice!). He asked some questions and decided it was probably viral since she had a cold just a few days ago. He said it's the most common reason for hives besides food allergies. Apparently our bodies can send out the *wrong* antibodies sometimes and hives are the result (or a rash). Didn't know that! He recommended Benadryl for her and that was it. Phew! I'm glad it's not more serious. I've never had this issue with the boys so it's all new- and scary! When we got home she was already really tired so we gave her the meds and I nursed her and put her down for the night. Hopefully she'll be all better by morning. You can be sure I'll be checking on her before I go to bed tonight though!

My pretty girl this morning-
Photobucket

Photobucket

Looks like someone punched her!
Photobucket

See how swollen it was!
Photobucket

At the Dr's office. I was wearing her hence my schnoz in the picture. ;)
Photobucket

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Wordless Wednesday

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Whirlwind weekend

We have one planned! This is our very last Disney weekend and we plan on hitting it hard! We may head over to DHS on Friday night to see Fantasmic. Ian's never seen it. Or we may not because I possibly have a girl's night planned that night too. Saturday we have to go to a birthday party and afterwards we are hitting the road once again. Sunday will be an all day affair at Disney and if dh takes off on Monday (no school), we will brave the President's Day crowds and go then too. Phew. There's so much we want to do just one more time: Monsters Inc Laugh Floor, Philharmagic, Space Mt, BTMRR, Lights Motors Action, ToT, Figment, Buzz Lightyear, etc. I really want the boys to experience Splash Mt too. We've never gone on it because neither of us wants to get wet. LOL We think Logan may be tall enough for the Rock N Roller Coaster also so maybe we could get on it. So much to do and see!

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Loooser! Slap an *L* on my forehead!

Yes that's me with the big *L* on my forehead. I attempted to work out tonight. Bwahaha! I barely got thru 20 min of The Biggest Loser dvd I own. I was dying with the first 5 minute warm up thanks to those freaking lunges. I had to modify the jumping jacks as I was so out of breath by the 10th one or so. Stepping and kicking- not so bad. Punching I can do. Then came more lunges. O.M.G. I was done. Sooo done. I tried. I really did. I did several reps on both legs.

My thighs are killing me. I don't feel it in my butt at all though which is where I thought I was supposed to be feeling it. My arms are slightly sore. I could not finish the workout. I'm so out of shape it isn't even funny. I'm not sure I'll be able to move tomorrow. Heck, I just got up for a second from my chair and my legs were screaming at me. I think I'll go back to my WATP videos for a while or get on the Wii Fit next time. I give props to those TBL contestants. That's hard work!!

Monday, February 09, 2009

Bella's first words?

I do believe that Bella has learned some new words other than Mamamama and Dadada. I swear I heard her say *Uh-oh* the other day and when I repeated it so did she. I'm not sure she's putting it in the right context but it's a word! I also noticed tonight that when she's tired she'll start saying *Nanana* which I realized may be her word for Night-Night. I'll have to pay closer attention. I'm such a bad mama that way.
Photobucket

Saturday, February 07, 2009

Yum yum Saturday

We took my MIL and our niece (an unexpected bonus) to the Cheesecake Factory today for MIL's birthday. Yummy!! After fighting Gasparilla traffic and construction we got there around 2-2:30pm and there were several groups ahead of us. We opted to sit outside on the patio instead of waiting for a table inside and we were seated within 5 minutes or so. It was a beautiful day and they have heaters available if you need them (the wind was cold). Dh and I love TCF. We don't go often because you can rack up quite a bill with apps, entree and of course- cheesecake!

Dh started us all off with homemade guacamole, salsa, sour cream and chips and also some avocado eggrolls. I ordered the chicken madeira which is da bomb! I don't want to know the nutritional info on that dish!! I ate half at lunch and half at dinner tonight. The boys split a pizza (no kid's menu) for lunch and dinner and also split a slice of blueberry swirl cheesecake. Their cheesecake was really good! Dh and I split (at home later) a slice of white choc. caramel macadamian nut cheesecake and neither of us was super impressed. I like macadamias but there were just too many and they overpowered it. Bella devoured a ton of guacamole and avocado out of the egg rolls as well as some of my chicken and mashed potatoes, dh's pasta, bread, her baby food and cheerios. That little thing can eat when she wants to!

If you've never been to TCF, you have to try it!

Thursday, February 05, 2009

Another boring post

Sorry I haven't had much to say lately. I guess I'm in a funk. We have the same routine every day which is good in most cases but it can lead to a lack of good blog posts. I'm not used to this writer's block. What to say, what to say (that won't completely bore you to tears)?

We only have two weekends left to use our Disney passes. You may see me go into a deep depression over that. LOL Disney has been part of our life for a few years now and it's hard to let it go. The boys have such a fun time and talk about it all the time. Where they want to go next, which rides they want to do, what they want to see, etc. We'll hopefully be able to go again in a few years when Bella is 2-3 years old or so.

After this we're going to have to find something cheap (free is good) to do for family outings. Dh isn't an outdoorsy person although we used to spend many afternoons walking along the river/boardwalk when we were dating and the boys would much rather be playing Legos or watching tv than watching nature at a park. We thought about getting passes to SeaWorld but how many times can you see just one park? At Disney there were 4 parks and always something new to see or something you hadn't done in a while. I burn very easily so the beach isn't the best option. I don't know how many times I could do our museum without getting tired of it. I may renew our zoo passes though. I know you have suggestions so throw them at me! What am I missing? The good part (is that possible?!) of not having the passes is that dh will have plenty of time to finish all his *projects* around the house!

Wednesday, February 04, 2009

Picture of the Day

I parked next to this humongous truck the other day at Lowes. This caught my eye so I took a pic before leaving. I LOL'd when I finally read exactly what it said.

Photobucket

Tuesday, February 03, 2009

Who's that other baby?

Too cute and too silly!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Monday, February 02, 2009

Bella, Hairbows and X-Rays- Oh my!

I love having a girl. And I love putting itty bitty bows in her hair. It's never been an issue until today. Bella, Ian and I had just gotten home from dropping Logan off at school. I took off her coat and put her on the floor for a second while I took my coat off. Then I put her in the playpen so I could get the dishes done (the sink was full!). When I came back to her, I noticed that her hairbow was gone. I didn't see it in or around the playpen but it didn't bother me because I figured it was around somewhere. I fed her some cheerios and babyfood (apricots, applesauce and yogurt concoction) and she seemed fine. I even nursed her a bit afterwards.

When I went to search for the hairbow it was no where to be found. I dumped every toy out, pulled the padding from the playpen bottom, flipped over the pen and searched every crevice more than once. I also looked more thoroughly around the area and couldn't find it. Her shirt was too loose for it to get stuck there and I changed her diaper and it wasn't in her pants or diaper. The only logical thing I could come up with is that she swallowed it somehow. It's not a huge barrette- maybe 1 1/4" long and the bow was soft but it was long enough that it could have gotten stuck. They were also worried since it was metal and could corrode.

So I placed a call to our pediatrician's office and talked to the triage nurse who said she'd have to talk to the on call Dr. and call me back. When she did call back, she said to take her to the Community Diagnostic Center and have her x-rayed. If I noticed her coughing or having abdominal pain though, I'd need to take her to the E.R. So right after picking up Logan we headed straight the the CDC to wait. The Dr had already faxed over the *prescription* to have the x-rays done and we had to only wait 30 minutes or so. The boys hung out with a technician in a room right across the hall since they couldn't be in the same room with us. I got to wear a lovely lead apron/vest thingy and hold her still and straight while they took the picture. It only lasted a minute and she was perfect thru it. I was more stressed about the wait in the waiting room with two bored boys (I didn't have time to bring anything or prepare) who were acting up than I was with Bella swallowing some foreign object.

Got everyone home, waited another 15-20 minutes before calling the ped's office again to get the results (they were faxed over) and they said that it wasn't stuck in the esophagus rings which is what they look for so I need to keep checking her poop (oh fun, fun!) or she didn't swallow it. Question remains- if she didn't swallow it, where the HELL is it?!

Oh and poor dh was stressing so much over this. He loves his kids to no end. He told me he was going to burn all the rest of her tiny hairbows. LOL I just know better now and will not leave her alone with a bitty hairbow again.